2 Chix in the Mix

September 11, 2011

Go 1981 WMHS Warriors!

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 3:39 pm
Tags: , , ,

While talking at a church luncheon, a friend asked me if I could make her class reunion cake. I asked how many servings she needed. She figured around 100. I said okay. Thinking I was smart, I went to her Facebook site and looked up her high school name and found their website. Ah, a simple arrowhead was their school logo, so I emailed her and offered to build a cake in the image of her school logo. She said (surprised), “You can do that?” In my ignorance, I told her I could get it pretty close. She then solicited her friends for a picture of the logo from 1981, which, as I soon found out, was NOT an arrowhead, but the head of an American Indian. 1981 was pre-political correctness era…silly me. The logo had been changed in recent years. When she sent the logo, I panicked for a few minutes, then tried to find a way to make it work. I figured I probably couldn’t make a cake for 100 in the shape of their logo, so I went for plan B. Of course, at this time, I didn’t really have a plan B, but it only took away one nights sleep thinking one up. I have written on, but I had never really drawn on a cake before. I designed the cake and decided that a native American “topper” would probably work the best. The result was a 15″ x 22″ x 2″ sheet cake with a 10″ x 2″ round cake “topper” with their logo, piped with a #3 tip. Drawing on the topper was a little time consuming, but it was so worth it when my friend told me that the venue chef came out and admired the cake – and the servers all wanted to try a piece. Of course, as long as my friend was happy with it, that’s all that really mattered.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

