2 Chix in the Mix

March 27, 2011

I’ve got a little bit of catching up to do…..

 As you can tell, this cake is for Nina.  And I bet you didn’t realize that Nina had a birthday.  🙂  

This one is a vanilla pound cake with vanilla buttercream.  Yes, you can put buttercream on pound cake.  It’s really good, but then again buttercream makes ANYTHING good. 

The flowers are made from fondant. 

My friend, Larry, had a birthday party last week.  Larry loves Mountain Dew Code Red as much as I love my Diet Mountain Dew.  You never see Larry without his bottle of Dew.  Normally, it stuck in his jacket pocket.  He likes to tease me when I don’t have mine with me. 

Larry’s cake is a double layer 9 x 13 carrot cake with vanilla buttercream.  The cooler and contents are fondant.

This cake has a split personality.  It’s for 2 sisters and a boyfriend.  The cake is strawberry amaretto with vanilla buttercream.  

Catherine love the Dave Matthews Band.  I like DMB but I’m not an expert on them so this one took some research.  The “person” on the front is a firedancer.  It’s molded from a combo of fondant and gumpaste.  The splotch is also a DMB emblem I found and the writing on the background is lyric from one of their songs.  I didn’t know it but it just happens to be one of Catherine’s favorite songs. 

Christine and Kris’ birthdays are just a few days apart.  Christine is a shoe and purse Diva.  She just loves them.  Kris is a photography enthusiast.  The shoe is made from gumpaste and the camera is a rice crispy treat covered in fondant.  And since I know you want to see that shoe better, here it is.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

