2 Chix in the Mix

October 9, 2010

Welcome to……

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 9:47 am
Tags: , ,

a squished North Carolina.  Have you ever noticed the long and narrow shape of our state?  Well, I had never related it to a cake shape until this week.  My neighbor’s sister, dad and his girlfriend are visiting them this week all the way from California.  This is the first time they’ve been here since Sandy moved here a few years ago.  Sandy asked me to make a cake for them with the shape of North Carolina.  At first I thought it would be easy-peasy but then I compared the shape of the state related to a 9×12 sheet pan and realized if I carved to correct shape the cake would only serve 4!  Maybe a few more but not many.   With a little artistic license I reshaped the Great State of North Carolina to allow for more servings.  You know, it’s all about the cake! 

Since the family is all about chocolate this cake is chocolate with chocolate buttercream.  I suspect it won’t last long past dinner.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

