2 Chix in the Mix

October 3, 2010

Black Jack Anyone?

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 8:57 pm
Tags: , , ,

My boss’ son’s 21st birthday is today.  My son is constantly watching poker on TV so I figured Black Jack would be fitting for a 21st birthday cake.  Since this cake was a short notice request I was unable to make the cards from gumpaste.  This meant the hunt was on for those little decks of cards you find in party favor bags.  Luckily, I was able to locate them quickly.  I removed all of the Aces and Jacks from the deck and used them to surround the cake on the cake board and covered the cards with a food safe film.  The cake sat perfectly in the circle of cards.  Once the cake was covered in buttercream, green on the top to resemble a poker table, I created pairs of Aces and Jacks and covered them with the same food safe film and placed them on the top and sides of the cake. 

Keepin’ it sweet!

Deah

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.