2 Chix in the Mix

August 11, 2010

Vroom Vroom!

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 12:10 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

My friend, Bruce, has a Shelby Cobra and he’s pretty proud.  It’s a beautiful car and he takes great care of it.  Bruce’s birthday was Monday and his wife asked me to make a car cake for him.  At first, I chickened out!  I wasn’t sure I could pull it off and not disappoint them so I didn’t want to promise anything.  Well, my husband wouldn’t let me get away with that.  He reminded me that it is unlike me to back away from a challenge.  So I decided to try it.  I wouldn’t tell anyone I was doing it so just in case it didn’t work out I wouldn’t have to show or explain it to anyone.  I HATE FAILURE!  So, I psyched myself out all week on this one.  Delaying and delaying because I was sure it wouldn’t meet my standards. 

Thursday night I finally bit the bullet and baked the cake.  That was the easy part.  Friday I began sculpting and when I put it in the refrigerator for the night I still wasn’t sure it would ever leave my house.  Saturday I began making the details from gumpaste – steering wheel, exhaust pipes, head and tail lights.  I covered the cake in red fondant and began “installing” the details.  I spent several hours on Saturday with the finishing touches.  Seems that always is the case.  

I gave the cake to Bruce on Sunday.  He was surprised and amazed.  And, Martha, his wife, was even more surprised.  Martha wouldn’t let him cut the cake until they took it to the bowling alley to share with their friends.  Everyone loved it.

Keepin’ it Sweet!

Deah  

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

