2 Chix in the Mix

June 23, 2010

Twilight Education

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 9:52 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I have to admit it now!  I have never read any of the Twilight books or seen the movies.  I knew less than nothing about the “saga” until last week.  I still don’t know much but I do know the icons of the books.  My slight education was brought on by a request for a Twilight cake.  A Twilightfriend was getting together with some of her girl friends for an adult birthday party.  The theme, if you haven’t already guessed, was Twilight.  I did some internet research, found a design and went to work.  We decided that a red velvet cake would look really cool once it was cut.  Red velvet cake absolutely must have cream cheese icing and raspberry filling completed the look.  For the design I covered the cake in buttercream flavored fondant and cut out diamond shapes with chocolate fondant colored black.  I start with chocolate so I don’t have to use too much black coloring and end up with a yucky tasting fondant.  This way the fondant still tastes like chocolate fondant and you don’t end up with guest with green teeth.  The Queen and apple were hand-shaped with gumpaste by Myrene.  The tulip is gumpaste also.  The scarf (or ribbon, I’m not sure which one it should be) is fondant.       

Keepin’ it sweet!

Deah

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

