2 Chix in the Mix

June 20, 2010

Happy Sugar-Free Father’s Day!

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 4:22 pm
Tags: , , , ,

During any typical week I have several cakes going and sugar everywhere.  Unfortunately, for my husband, this is torture.  You see, Rob is diabetic and really watches his sugar intake.  Yeah, he gets a bite here and there of cake and limited icing but for the most part he’s good about not eating sweets.  Now, potato chips and popcorn are a totally different story!

This Father’s Day I wanted to create something for him to enjoy.  I found a recipe using Splenda (not Splenda Blend) so I could create for him a sugar-free chocolate cake.  After finishing 3 cakes this week I started working on his.  The layers baked pretty fast – I’ve been told that Splenda bakes faster than sugar.  The layers didn’t rise much so I torted the layers and added filling between each layer.  The filling/icing is a chocolate and whipped cream concoction that finishes the consistency of mousse.  It was wonderful just by itself.  We discussed adding strawberries to the mousse – another dessert created. 

Rob requested a nice lunch today with our kids – steaks (chicken for Heather), twice baked potatoes, salad and yeast rolls.  After the feast, we pulled out the cake and went to it.   Non-sugar eaters and sugar eaters alike thought it was great but I think I’ll tweak it a little more.  I saw some sugar-free chocolate chips at the grocery yesterday.  That should intensify the chocolate flavor!    

Here’s a more sugary Father’s Day cake I made for my neighbors.  It’s chocolate cake, vanilla buttercream and chocolate buttercream accents. 

Now, all I have to do is grab a fork!

Keepin’ it sweet!

Deah

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

