2 Chix in the Mix

June 13, 2010

Have a seat

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 9:50 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

My husband’s grandfather was a furniture upholsterer for almost 40 years. Besides the Army, it’s all he talks about. I have been in friends’ homes and they’ve showed me pieces that he did for them. He was really quite good.

His daughter called me several weeks ago and told me they wanted me to make a cake for his 90th birthday celebration and furniture had to be the theme. Oh man, I had never done a cake with a furniture theme before. So, I had to wing the design.

I knew he loved lemon, so a lemon flavored cake was definitely gonna happen. This cake is 14 x 14 x 4 and very heavy. I figured if I was constructing a couch out of cake, I probably needed to use a pound cake. Deah had a really good pound cake recipe, so I made on in a 13 x 9 pan so I could cut slabs to piece together. I made the design in my head and started carving…it was not as tough as I had imagined! I put a thin layer of icing on the pieces, covered them in fondant, gave it some “texture” and made a couple of pillows.  They wanted some room left on the sides to put a couple of special candles, so I offset the words just a little. I also took long strips of fondant in the colors of the couch and pillows, wound them together and made the “braided” rug…all in all, I think this is one of the more fun cakes I have made. And Grandpa and the party guests just loved it!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

