2 Chix in the Mix

June 12, 2010

Experimenting and More Grad Caking

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 10:24 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

So I ran across a quatrefoil pattern while looking at craft blogs.  The blogger had used it to paint a step stool and a tray.  I liked the pattern so I figured I would try it on a cake.  I cut the pattern out of card stock and air brushed the pattern on the side of the cake.   While the results aren’t bad I do know I need to learn a lot about air brushing.  After the air brush was applied Myrene and I topped it with buttercream roses.  Cake is vanilla bean with vanilla bean buttercream.  I just love seeing those little specs of vanilla in the icing?

Next was a graduation cake for a family gathering to celebrate their graduates.  The cake was made with 2 layers of chocolate and 2 layers of spice cake.  Both are covered with vanilla buttercream.  The caps are made with fondant covered rice krispy treats and gumpaste mortar boards.  The colors are the graduates school colors.

My final cake of the week was a zebra striped graduation cake.  Hailee graduated today and requested a vanilla bean cake with vanilla buttercream.  Like the others, the cap is made from a fondant covered rice krispy treat but in this case I covered cardboard with fondant.  FYI – gumpaste works better!  Normally, I don’t get to sample the finished product but today I was able to get a little taste – YUMMO!

Keepin’ it sweet!

Deah

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

