2 Chix in the Mix

January 30, 2010

It’s a Topsy-Turvy Groovy World!

My neighbors asked me to make a cake for their daughter’s 12th birthday.  I’ll be the first one to admit that I’m a little out of sync with the tweeners.  It seems that the 60s groovy theme is back.  (I missed it the first time!)  Bright neon colors, flowers and peace signs were the requests.  Gabrielle is all about the flower child.

Myrene and I wanted to tackle a topsy-turvy cake.  Since my neighbors are kind enough to allow me to use them as guinea pigs we thought we would take the opportunity to make Gabrielle’s cake “a little off”.

The process was a little nerve wracking when it came to stacking the second tier on the first.  But it was easier that I thought it would be.  Funny how new things intimidate you for no reason.

The cake is vanilla with vanilla buttercream and fondant accents.  It weighed as much as a small child, really it did.  We estimated it at around 25lbs.  Now, that is a lot of cake.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

