2 Chix in the Mix

October 30, 2009

I Bowled a 301

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 11:34 pm

My step daughter works at a bowling alley (she is in college) so, I thought I might try to play on that with her birthday cake. My first thought was to make the bowling pins out of gum paste. But, as the time grew nearer, I thought, “Ah, I’ll just laminate some pictures of pins and put them in the cake with tooth picks.” Deah said, “Anyone can do that…you need to make the gum paste pins.” So, Deah came over to see my chocolate fondant (my first try at chocolate fondant) and ended up staying to help with the bowling pins AND placing the lettering on the cake. Thanks, Deah!

100_2539The ball is marbled gum paste. Ashley had a pink marbled bowling ball when she was younger, so that’s what I decided to put on the cake.

When it was finished, Deah and I were both pleased with the way it turned out. And Ashley thought I had bowled a three hundred and one! What? You can’t bowl a three hundred and one? Have you ever known any one to bowl a three hundred and lose??? One? Won…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

