2 Chix in the Mix

October 13, 2009

Groom’s Cake 1.0

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 8:07 pm

MiceThis is our first Groom’s Cake so I’m giving it the official title of Groom’s Cake 1.0 – pretty fitting, I think.

This cake was for my new son-in-law, Matt.  I volunteered to create the Groom’s Cake and was excited about the design possibilities.  Matt requested a cheese looking cake and that was it.  So my mind went to work on it a few months ago.  I tested different shapes, cheese styles and construction.  Once I had a design picked I started quizzing Matt on his favorite cake flavors.  (He’s been one of my taste testers so he knows his cakes!)  Matt picked lemon, chocolate and vanilla flavors.   I kept the design a secret from Matt; Heather only got a few hints along the way.  I wanted it to be a surprise.

Heather and Matt were married last Sunday in Wilmington.   Facing an out of town wedding, I started baking on Thursday morning and finished the entire cake Thursday evening, traveled to Wilmington on Friday, with the rehearsal dinner on Saturday (we served the cake at the rehearsal dinner).  The cake was transported as separate layers and assembled just before the rehearsal.

The bride & groom mice and grapes are gum paste.  The cakes were Swiss (lemon), Parmesano Reggiano (vanilla), and Sharp Cheddar (chocolate).

Let me know what you think.

Cheese Please!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

