2 Chix in the Mix

September 15, 2009

I Can’t Drive 55!

Filed under: Baking — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 2:23 pm

SnickerdoodleSo, today is my boss’ birthday.  No, not my husband, that guy I work for 40 hours a week.  Like always, a birthday cake appears in the conference room whenever someone has a birthday.  They even remember when it’s my birthday.  Although, no one bakes me a homemade cake.  I guess I can’t expect a scratch cake from the guys.

Over time I have learned everyone’s favorites and not so favorites.   My boss’ favorite is Snickerdoodle.  So every year he gets a Snickerdoodle cake.  I was thinking yesterday on my way home from work about how I would decorate his cake.  I kept hearing Sammy Hagar singing in my ear “I can’t drive 55!  Oh no!”  I really thought of having the speed limit sign on his cake but he wouldn’t recognize it because he doesn’t pay attention to the speed limits while driving down the interstate and working his crossword puzzle. Yes, he really does!

You can tell his age from the picture.  I don’t normally like to put adult ages on cakes because some people are sensitive but he isn’t.  He’s actually kind of proud of it.

Music trivia:
Released in 1984, this could be considered Hagar’s foray into social awareness. While some Rock stars were concerned about the environment or civil rights, Hagar was upset with the lowering of highway speed limits. He had a lot of support for his cause.  In 2001, Hagar finally updated this to reflect new speed limits on American highways.  He re-recorded it as “I Can’t Drive 65” for the NASCAR album Full Throttle.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

