2 Chix in the Mix

August 10, 2009

How much is too much?

Filed under: Flavors — by 2ChixInTheMix @ 2:33 pm

lemonI recently had a friend request a cake for a weekend at the lake with his cycling friends.  Nothing keeps you fit like a really long bike ride followed by a gigantic piece of cake!

My friend wanted a lemon cake.  How lemon-y?  The challenge was as lemon as I could get it!  While baking the cake layers I added extra lemon flavoring to the normal lemon taste.  When it came to the icing I found myself measuring in tablespoons instead of teaspoons.  I kept adding and tasting, trying to find the point just before the lemon would turn bitter.  I ended up with a really strong lemon taste but I was pleased with the balance of lemon to sweet.  My friend said it was excellent as all his friends raved about it.Super Lemon Cake

Do you enjoy extremes of flavors?  Leave a comment and let us know your favorite.

Deah

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

